skip navigation

Summer Workout Schedules

All students must have a completed ticket to play and athletic physical 

 

Volleyball – Monday and Wednesday 9:30am-11:00am Tryouts are August 2nd & August 3rd ( Contact Lindsay Mcswain @ Lindsey.Mcswain@cms.k12.nc.us

 

Girls Basketball – Tuesday and Thursday 4:00pm-5:30pm (Contact Lauren Galvani  @Laurena.lewis@cms.k12.nc.us)

 

Softball – Monday and Wednesday 2:30pm-4:00pm (Contact Coach Jardina @ Amanda.jardina@cms.k12.nc.us

 

Men’s Soccer – Tuesday and Thursday 5:45pm-7:45pm (weight room 5:45pm-6:45pm/practice field 6:45pm-7:45pm) ( Contact Coach Gibson @ Tylerj.Gibson@cms.k12.nc.us)

 

Women’s Soccer – Tuesday and Thursday (weight room 5:00pm-5:45pm/practice field 4:45pm-6:45pm(Contact Andrew Shimko  Andrew.Shimko@cms.k12.nc.us)

 

Men’s Basketball – Monday and Wednesday 7:00pm-9:00pm (Contact Preston Davis @ Preston.Davis@cms.k12.nc.us)

 

Cheer –STARTS June 21 4-6 pm JV girls must wear green or gold shorts JV gold and V gold/yellow  both  groups must wear a white t-shirt with no graffiti and must wear sneakers ( Contact Mary M. Smith @Marym.Smith@cms.k12.nc.us)

 

Tennis –Will start preseason workouts on August 2nd at 7:30 am (Contact Dianne Spence @ Dianned.Spence @cms.k12.nc.us)

 

Cross Country- Preseason workouts will start July 13 – 16 in the morning from 7:00 am to 9:00 am Monday through Thursday.  The First official day of practice will be Monday, August 3, 2015 at 7:00 am (Contact Kenneth Waldron or Amanda Hawthorne @ Kwwaldron@cms.k12.nc.us  or Amanda.Hawthorne@cms.k12.nc.us

 

New Sponsor Alert !!!!!!!

Farah Borno

Keller Williams University

Each office independently owned and operated

office: (704)409-4700

cell: (704)612-1271

email: FBorno@KW.com

Live Stream Independence Athletic Events

Subscribe Today & Watch Live

Independence High School webstore

https://sideline.bsnsports.com/schools/north_carolina/charlotte/independence-high-school

 

 

The store never closes you can order when ready and packages will be shipped directly to you 

NEW PHYSICAL FORM

Athletics

THE bulldog logo

 

 

Cross Country and Volleyball will resume workouts on September 14th2020. All other athletic teams are still postponed until further notice please continue to check our website for updated information in regards to athletics. Also listed on our Athletic page is the contact information for every head coach.You can reach the Athletic Director at Elijah1.Ashley@Cms.k12.nc.us.

If you have any questions please feel free to reach out to Lindsay  Mcswain lindsayn.mcswain@cms.k12.nc.us for Volleyball related questions and Kenneth Waldron at Kwwaldronsr@gmail.com for any Cross Country related questions

 

Things you must have and they can be found on https://www.cmsathleticzone.com/independence

  1. “Ticket to play “
  2. Athletic Physical-
  3. Initial Screen form  Initial Screening Questions – must be completed and signed by SA & parent/guardian; must be dated the initial day of return to campus to work 
  4.  Communicable Disease Waiver Athletics (CMS) – signed no later than initial day of participation.

INDEPENDENCE ATHLETICS WOULD LIKE TO SAY THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSORS

 

 

Town and Country Ford

Anna Granger with 1st Choice Properties

Karen Parsons with Allen Tate

Turn Key

Dr Jason Loker with Bellsara Density

Dr Wes Robinson Orthodontics

Chick-Fil-a on Albemarle Road

Town of Mint Hill

All Star Signs

Mint Hill Barber Shop

Jennifer Lambert with Allen Tate

Manning Density in Mint Hill

Char Bar 7 now open in Mint Hill

The Hill Bar & Grill

Tiffany Pet salon

Brian & Beth Belcher with REMAX

Oral  and Facial Surgery

International minute press of Matthews

Carol Buckanavage with Savvy Solutions

Todd Younker with State Farm

Dr. Baker Dentistry in Mint Hill

Pix with Ron

Athletic Department Mission

Athletic Department

1, Provide  support to the educational goals of the school and principal

2. Provide an environment conducive to positive growth and development of student-athletes and Athletic Department staff

3.  Develop the qualities of good sportsmanship, respect, responsibility, and moral integrity within each student-athlete

4. Develop positive working partnerships with all stakeholders develop the qualities of good sportsmanship, respect, responsibility, and moral integrity within each student-athlete.

INDEPENDENCE COACHING STAFF

Athletic Director Elijah1.ashley@cms.k12.nc.us  or 980 343 6900

Fall Coaches

Football - Darryl Mcfadden Darrylt.Mcfadden@cms.k12.nc.us 

Volleyball - Lindsay McSwain Lindsayn.Mcswain@cms.k12.nc.us 

Soccer - Tyler Gibson- Tylerj.gibson@cms.k12.nc.us

Cross Country- Amanda Hawthorne or Ken Waldron- Kwwaldronsr@gmail,com

or Amandaj.Hawthorne@,cms.k12.nc.us

Cheerleading - Mary Mitchell-Smth  Marym.smith@cms.k12.nc.us

Golf - Matthew Rutkowski matthew.rutkowski@cms.k12.nc.us

Tennis- Dianne and Janus Spence- Dianned Spence@cms.k12.nc.us

 

 

Winter Coaches

Men's Basketball -Preston Davis  preston.davis@cms.k12.nc.us

Women's Basketball- Lauren Galvani  laurena.lewis@cms.k12.nc.us

Wrestling - Charles Clarke  zzzthree@yahoo.com

Indoor Track- Ken Waldron  kwwaldronsr@gmail.com

Cheerleading  -Mary Mitchell - Smith   Marym.smith@cms.k12.nc.us

Swimming- Elizabeth.Matrejek@cms.k12.nc.us

 

Spring Coaches

Baseball- Samuel Skinner  samuell.skinner@cms.k12.nc.us

Softball- Amanda Jardina- Amanda 1.Larry@cms.k12.nc.us

Tennis- Dianne and Janus Spence- Dianne Spence@cms.k12.nc.us

Women's Soccer - Andrew.Shimko @cms.k12.nc.us 

Outdoor Track- Ken Waldron- Kwwaldronsr@gmail.com

Golf - Matthew Rutkowski matthew.rutkowski@cms.k12.nc.us

Lacrosse Melissa Ladez - melissaa.ladezmoore@cms.k12.nc.us

Former Patriot QB Chris Leak featured in NFHS Article

Great article by the NFHS on former Patriot QB Chris Leak.

Lowes 48 car in end zone at practice on 8/20/14

    Independence Recent News

    |

    Athletic Director: Elijah Ashley

    Address: 1967 Patriot Dr.
    Charlotte, NC 28227
    Directions to Independence

    Phone: 980-343-6900
    Fax: 980-343-1248

    Email Elijah1.ashley@cms.k12.nc.us

    District Sponsors

    Follow me on Twitter @Elijahashley9

    Photos

    https://twitter.com/i/notifications