skip navigation


Eric Hudson was named 4A Most Outstanding Wrestler and 195lb NCHSAA 4A State Champion!

    News and Announcements

    picture of all CMS athletic trainings standing together, blue shirts.


    School Information

    Athletic Director: Jesse C. Wilkins

    Address: 7400 Tuckaseegee Rd.
    Charlotte, NC 28214
    Directions to WMHS

    Phone: 980-343-6080
    Fax: 980-343-0842

    Athletic Director Contact

    Jesse Wilkins

    Athletic Director

    Phone: 980-343-6080

    West Mecklenburg Hall of Fame

    1979 - Tommy Helms, JoGraham Foster, Rusty Meacham, TC Wright, Bob       Campbell

    1980 - Carl Bolick, US Norwood, David Strawn

    1981 - Andy Harris, T. LaFontaine Odom, Clyde Peek

    1985 - Faye Keistler, Tom Mattox, Jimmy Hyder

    1986 - Jimmy Blair, Henry Sadler, Johnny Severs

    1991 - Ron Patterson, Freddy Leger

    2014 - Eddie McArver, Donny Lemmond, Vance Schrum, Becky McDonald, Morgan Walker, Ray Hughes

    2015- James Davis, Bobby Harrison, Terry Saunders, Bobby McGowen

    2016- Illia Miles Hayes, Marcia Townsend Gillis, Billy Puckett, Maseo Bolin, James Hambacher

    2017- Brian Lawing

    2018- Julia White Gaddy, Arnold Lakey, Jim McConnell, Shantay Taylor, Terry Wix


    Verbal Commitments and Signings

    2019 Football

    Daniel Eury                                      Winston Salem State University

    Delmar Glaze                                  Maryland University

    2019 Volleyball

    Jireh Pinkney                                   Winston Salem State University

    2016 Football

    Amari Brice- Greene                    University of North Carolina-Pembroke

    2015 Soccer

    Rachael Stanford                          Brevard College

    2015 Basketball

    Joi  Tapper                                         Louisburg College

    Jasmine Gray                                   Louisburg Colege


    2015 Football

    Dominique Williams        East Tennessee State

    Joe Nguyen                        Shaw University

    Victor Harris                 Gardner Webb University

    Kajon Roberts                   Bluefield College

    Thomas Allen                     Bluefield College

    Terry Harrell                       Maris Hill College


    2014 Football

    Jalan McClendon     SR.     QB     North Carolina State

    Van Smith               JR.       S      Clemson

    Shaun Wilson          SR.      RB     Duke

    Laron Glenn             SR.      DL      Gardner Webb

    Sterlin Houston        SR.      OL      NC Central

    Jerjuan Edwards       SR       LB      Mars Hill

    Brandon Dixon          SR       LB      Winston Salem St.

    Parvez Mumtaz         SR       CB     NC Wesleyan

    Donnell Gardner         SR      WR    Independence Prep     Kansas

    2014 Softball

    Jill Sprague      SR.     Erskine

    Follow West Meck Sports on Twitter

    WestMeckSports West Meck Sports WestMeckSports

    West Meck Athletic Directors History

    West Mecklenburg High School was opened in 1951.  Since opening 62 years ago there have only been 5 Athletic Directors at West Meck.  Carl Bolick was the first followed by Donny Lemmond, Bobby Harrison, and John Yewcic.  All four previous AD'S were present for the last football game in West Meck’s current stadium on September 6, 2013. Current Athletic Director Vernon Hunter is the schools 5th AD.

    Thanks to Dale Ross and for the picture.

    West Meck's Only 4 Athletic Directors

    John Yewcic, Carl Bolick, Donny Lemmond, Bobby Harrison

    District Sponsors